## Cook Shire COUNCIL

## MEDIA RELEASE

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## Morning celebration for Australia Day awards

January 12, 2018 COOKTOWN

Cook Shire residents are encouraged to get behind their local nominees for a morning celebration and awards ceremony for Australia Day on January 26.

The ceremony, to be held at the Cooktown PCYC Events Centre, starts at 8.30am on Friday, January 26, with the official proceedings and award presentations followed by a delicious free morning tea. The award categories are Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year, Volunteer of the Year (Group or Individual), Sports (Group, Individual or Event) and Arts and Culture (Group, Individual or Event).

"Australia Day is an important occasion to mark where we are as a nation and how far we've come, and for our community to celebrate together the achievements of our local residents," Cook Shire Mayor Peter Scott said. "This year we moved the event to an earlier time to allow everyone to enjoy the ceremony and then continue to celebrate the day in their own way."

Nominees for the 2018 Cook Shire Australia Day Awards are: Brandon Zysk, Charlie Martin, Cooktown State Emergency Services, Cooktown School of Art Society, Dan Hodgson, Dean Engwirda, Don Perkins, Full Boar Thai Boxing, Gloria Savage, Helen Bigmore, Jody Andrews, Julie Oliver, Lakeland Progress Association, Leanne Rayner, Legends of Perhaps, Ray Wright, Rhiannon Shepherd, Robyn Nelson, Sandy Lloyd, Susan Forsyth and the Wallaby Creek Festival.

For more information contact Council's tourism and events team via email at mail@cook.qld.gov.au or phone on 4069 5444.

~ end ~